A Good Day on a Horse. 

“You know how every once in a while you do something and the little voice inside says : ‘there, that’s it. That’s why you’re here’…. and you get a warm glow in your heart because you know it’s true?

Do more of that. ”

– Jacob Nordby

You know that thing that makes you feel at home? Relaxed, easy, simply happy? That thing you were born to do? That thing people call ‘your passion’?

For me it has been horse riding, since I was 9 years old I knew this is what I was made for. I am at home in a saddle on the back of a horse. Most of my family and friends know this about me. They’ve seen me light up when I talk about it (constantly), and become my true self, totally relaxed and pure happiness radiating from me, when I’m doing it.

It’s where I am home.

It’s a lucky thing then, that horses can be found pretty much everywhere in the world.

I’ve recently had a day in my travels which I would probably describe as The Best Day Ever on this trip so far. I’m going to describe this day to you now (briefly), and show you some pictures of the beautiful island of Chiloe.

It started out with a sunny morning bus ride from Castro to Cucao on the island of Chiloe. We rolled over green hills and past lakes and farmland, arriving at Palafito Hostel in Cucao. Dumping our bags, my new friend from Germany and I ran across the road to meet our horses and our lovely guide for the day. Accompanying us were two 14 year old boys; the son of the owner and his friend who was learning to ride. Setting off down the road it was pretty clear this was going to be a good day. I already felt amazing, I hadn’t realised how much I had missed riding. Our guide was funny and the two boys and him were clearly good mates who enjoyed literally ‘horsing around’ (mucking around and being silly), which made the two of us clients laugh a lot throughout the day.

The horses were lovely and full of character, well trained and happy, they made our ride fun and rather then a follow the leader type style typical of trail riding horses, these boys were free and we were in control, sometimes galloping across the sand in a sort of chaos that always gets my heart beating and my cheeks hurting from grinning!

We rode for a while and took a few breaks and eventually arrived at Muelle De Las Almas – which is a place of mystery and beauty!

It’s linked with a myth that he indigenous community of ‘witches’ believe regarding the after life.

It means the pier of the souls. Unlike most piers that lead out to the sea, this pier was on the edge of a cliff and leads to a long dropoff. It’s like a bridge to the next life. Apparently it is where your soul gets collected by a big ship waiting to deliver you to your next life. It isn’t ‘ending’ symbolically to show that your life isn’t over even after you’ve died. The guide, who we befriended and later enjoyed an evening of red wine with, told the story beautifully.

It really was a perfect day, even with all the people at the destination . It was perhaps a connection of riding, the ocean and the magic of Chiloe that made me so happy. Whatever it was, I’m holding onto  it. I was born to be on the back of a horse.

I encourage you to find your passion, find that thing that makes you feel like you’re home, that thing you love, and do it. As often as possible you should do it. It’s my happy place, and I’m lucky I know what it is.

“It is obvious that we can no more explain a passion to a person who has never experienced it than we can explain light to the blind.”
-T. S. Eliot

Leave a Reply

