Hello….. can you hear me? 

“The thing about Chaos, is that while it disturbs us, it too, forces our hearts to roar in a way we secretly find magnificent”

– Christopher Poindexter

I know it has been a while since I posted anything in my Blog site, and maybe for the few followers I have it seemed like I dropped off the face of the planet, but I’m back. It has been a hectic and full on time and it has taken this month of madness to get my jumbled life in a kind of order (strong emphasis on ‘kind of’), and to get my muddled brain in a somewhat clearer state (emphasis on ‘somewhat clearer’).

Well, last you heard I was headed to Iceland…. oh how the tides have shifted!

I started my little adventure in London, UK. I had such fun visiting a friend who I met in Uganda and who visited me a while ago in Australia. After the 24 hour flight to get there I was fairly knackered and happy to stretch my legs and we spent ages drinking tea, some fancy champagne based drink, and eating delicious cake that was actually her little brothers birthday cake…

Oh, and we ate a lot of cheese…

Next stop was Scotland (which will have its own separate post coming up) where I visited some beloved friends I used to work for and live with during my last visit in Scotland in 2013. I popped across to Glasgow and out to Ayrshire- Stevenston and visited some relatives – mums aunt and uncle and her cousin, who took me on many adventures during my brief visit!

After Scotland, I flew to the much anticipated Iceland! (Posts to come).

What a beautiful country, wild and harsh and magical! Full of intrigue, adventure, and longing.

Only, long story short, I ended up not staying with the job all that long, and found myself with no plans and kind of stuck in one of the most expensive countries in the world….

Which is where my adventure got twisty and confusing. My head was spinning with questions and uncertainty: Where to next? What should I do? Where am I going? What am I doing? Why is my life not in order?

Relax.

Take a breathe.

One day at a time.

One foot in front of the other.

Life will sort it self out. Eventually. I hope.

Thankfully my fairy god mother stepped in and rescued me. My dads sister, Aunty Ruth, whisked me away to America where I’ve spent the last 3 weeks visiting interesting places, tasting American food, learning about George Washington, space exploration, metro systems, american geography, and American Politics (lol!). I got to meet my cousins Husband and new baby, and meet my uncle who has a brilliant mind and can play the piano like no one else,

and went hiking on a small section of the Appalachian Trail (possible future adventure), and saw wild horses in the Assateague National Park. I even went to the Big Apple and spent a few days exploring the chaos in New York City. (Posts and photos to come)… I’ve visited 3 states – Maryland, Virginia (is for lovers), and New York. I experienced an American  (i guess I could call it a fraternity) party – most importantly there were red solo cups, beer from a concealed keg,  hockey on the television, buckets of KFC…. and a piñata (Cinco de Mayo celebrations).

All in all, it’s been a hectic time and though I’d like to think i have my life somewhat ordered, really its just as chaotic as ever, and maybe something beautiful will bloom from the chaos that surrounds me and seems to currently define my life.

This brings me to today, my last day in the United States.

My next adventure is still somewhat uncertain and confusing. I’m about to head back across the Atlantic to Scotland where I will try to figure out what comes next.

I have a mix of things I’d like to achieve and am hoping to do but as with all things in my life, who really knows what’s around the corner, or out the doors of the next airport- let’s just take it one day at a time.  Here are a few ‘goals’:

1.Chase my dreams of becoming a professional Dressage competitor – see where i go and what happens when I give it my all.

2. Hike the West Highland Way.

3.  Be happy with where I am and who I am in the moment (stop planning for the future and constantly thinking about what comes next – is this possible?)

4. Get fit, ride often (its what keeps me sane (was i ever sane?))

5. Get a job somewhere doing something because ultimately I need to save up so I can be home for Christmas!

6. Unapologetically go for it.

7. Accept that not everything has to be done this year. I have my whole life ahead of me. I can do it all. I’m only 23 after all.

Leave a Reply

